HMD Motorsports

In just three years of INDY NXT by Firestone competition, HMD Motorsports has become a top team in the series – amassing three championships and 26 wins.

Entering the motorsports scene in 2019, HMD Motorsports took over leadership of BN Racing’s INDY NXT by Firestone (then Indy Lights) team partway through the season. Beginning a complete overhaul, the team moved to the Indianapolis, Indiana area and began hiring new and highly experienced personnel as they prepared for the 2020 season. However, the worldwide pandemic canceled the 2020 season and HMD Motorsports turned to the Formula Regional Americas Championship where they earned 17 podiums.

The team returned to the INDYCAR paddock the following year in 2021 as they made their official INDY NXT by Firestone (then Indy Lights) debut as a rookie team. Focusing on continued growth of the program, HMD entered three full-time drivers with two additional part-time entries. In their first season, HMD Motorsports became an immediate front-running team, claiming ten wins and 33 podiums on their way to winning the final series Team Championship as David Malukas finished second in the Driver’s Championship.

In 2022, HMD Motorsports’ growth continued as the team expanded to four full-time entries and four part-time entries in INDY NXT by Firestone (then Indy Lights) while also partnering with Dale Coyne Racing in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES to run graduate David Malukas. Claiming seven wins and 15 podiums in the 14-race calendar, HMD Motorsports continued their streak of success as Linus Lundqvist secured the overall Championship.

Growing yet again, HMD Motorsports started the 2023 season with nine drivers in INDY NXT by Firestone while continuing their partnership with David Malukas and Dale Coyne Racing in the NTT INDYCAR SERIES. With seven full-time drivers throughout the season, HMD Motorsports earned nine wins and 23 podiums while Christian Rasmussen claimed back-to-back Championships for the team.

For 2024, HMD Motorsports will continue at full capacity in INDY NXT by Firestone as they continue to help advance drivers to the top-level of North American open-wheel racing. To date, five HMD Motorsports graduates have advanced to the NTT INDYCAR SERIES:

  • David Malukas, Arrow McLaren
  • Benjamin Pedersen, AJ Foyt Racing
  • Linus Lundqvist, Chip Ganassi Racing
  • Kyffin Simpson, Chip Ganassi Racing
  • Christian Rasmussen, Ed Carpenter Racing